2014 NHL Stanley Cup Final - Game Five

It’s back! PHT’s Team of the Day summer series starts tomorrow


We did this last summer, and we think it went quite well. So we’re doing it again!

For each of the first 30 days of August, we’ll turn our focus to one NHL team. We’ll write about what it’s done, what it hopes to do, how it plans to do it, and whether it has a good chance of succeeding. We’ll look at one of that team’s young players who’s looking to make the leap, either from amateur to pro, or from inconsistent project to consistent contributor at the NHL level. Who will be under the most pressure in 2014-15? We’ll identify one candidate for each team. And there will be a daily poll for you, the reader, to vote on.

Following is the schedule for all 30 teams. This year, we’re starting with the Western Conference (Aug 1-14) and finishing up with the East (Aug 15-30).

Fri, Aug 1 — Los Angeles Kings
Sat, Aug 2 – Winnipeg Jets
Sun, Aug 3 – Calgary Flames
Mon, Aug 4 – Chicago Blackhawks
Tues, Aug 5 – Anaheim Ducks
Wed, Aug 6 – San Jose Sharks
Thurs, Aug 7 – Colorado Avalanche
Fri, Aug 8 – Dallas Stars
Sat, Aug 9 – Nashville Predators
Sun, Aug 10 – Arizona Coyotes
Mon, Aug 11 – Vancouver Canucks
Tues, Aug 12 – St. Louis Blues
Wed, Aug 13 – Minnesota Wild
Thurs, Aug 14 – Edmonton Oilers
Fri, Aug 15 – Tampa Bay Lightning
Sat, Aug 16 – Carolina Hurricanes
Sun, Aug 17 – Florida Panthers
Mon, Aug 18 – Washington Capitals
Tues, Aug 19 – New York Rangers
Wed, Aug 20 – Philadelphia Flyers
Thurs, Aug 21 – Pittsburgh Penguins
Fri, Aug 22 – New York Islanders
Sat, Aug 23 – Ottawa Senators
Sun, Aug 24 – Montreal Canadiens
Mon, Aug 25 – Toronto Maple Leafs
Tues, Aug 26 – Columbus Blue Jackets
Wed, Aug 27 – Detroit Red Wings
Thurs, Aug 28 – Buffalo Sabres
Fri, Aug 29 – Boston Bruins
Sat, Aug 30 – New Jersey Devils

Oilers get Kronwall’d – in more ways than one

Niklas Kronwall
Leave a comment

When someone gets clobbered by Niklas Kronwall, they get Kronwall’d.

(His detractors may insist that the definition require the words “dirty” or “illegal,” but that’s a debate for another day.)

It’s easy to get lost in those thunderous hits and forget that the  Swedish defenseman also brings some skill to the table.

He made a big impact – literally and figuratively – in Detroit’s 4-3 overtime win against the Edmonton Oilers on Friday.

First, the Kronwalling:

Next, Kronwall’s overtime-winner:

It hasn’t always been pretty, but the Red Wings are leaning on guys like Kronwall and Dylan Larkin to stick with it.

Tonight’s win extends their point streak to six games (4-0-2), with five of those contests going to overtime.

Dubinsky – Crosby’s nemesis – gets the last laugh on Friday

Sidney Crosby, Brandon Dubinsky

Brandon Dubinsky isn’t a household name like Sidney Crosby is, yet for all the hype that Crosby vs. Alex Ovechkin gets, Dubinsky is the sort of guy who truly rankles No. 87.

It’s been getting that spotlight since the Columbus Blue Jackets faced off against the Pittsburgh Penguins in a brisk playoff series, though it wouldn’t be surprising if the bad blood stemmed to Dubinsky’s days with New York.

To some, Dubinsky’s cross-check on Crosby will resonate far more than the end result of this game:

The bottom line is that he’ll get the last laugh, at least for now. (In-game, that moment merely drew a minor penalty.)

That’s because Dubinsky set up the overtime game-winner, and the cherry on the top of that spite sundae came with Crosby being on the ice when it happened:

They’re not just rubbing the Penguins the wrong way.

Even Dubinsky kind of sort of admits that he may have been in the wrong.


More and more, the Blue Jackets are looking like a nuisance … possibly one that will grind their way to an unlikely playoff berth. They improved to 8-4-0 in November after a disastrous 2-10-0 October.

In other words, there’s at least a chance that we may see these increasingly bitter rivals butt heads in another playoff series.

Eichel’s sweet snipe helps Sabres snap six-game skid

Jack Eichel
1 Comment

The Buffalo Sabres probably deserved better during at least some chunks of their six-game skid, yet Jack Eichel swooped in on Friday to remind fans that there’s a light shining at the end of the tunnel.

You can watch his goal from tonight’s eventual 4-1 win against the Carolina Hurricanes in the video above.

That’s not necessarily the absolute height of his on-ice magic, yet it clearly gave his team a lift:

Call this a healthy reminder that Eichel has the ability to change games, something Buffalo fans hope to get used to.

Report: Likely no suspension for Matt Beleskey’s hit on Derek Stepan


Alain Vigneault went there in comparing Matt Beleskey‘s hit on Derek Stepan to the notorious check Aaron Rome delivered on Nathan Horton many moons ago, but the league seems to disagree.

While Rome sat through that memorable Stanley Cup Final between Boston and Vancouver, it sounds like Beleskey won’t face any further discipline, according to ESPN’s Pierre LeBrun.

In the unlikely event that anything changes, PHT will make note.

The next game between the Rangers and Bruins takes place at Madison Square Garden on Jan. 11. Will these bad feelings linger?