Zdeno Chara, Jarome Iginla

Lucic says Iginla’s decision ‘lit a bit of a fire’ for them


One of the sidebars to the Bruins sweeping the Penguins was how Jarome Iginla’s decision to go to Pittsburgh rather than Boston wound up backfiring on him.

The fact he had a choice in the matter wasn’t lost on Milan Lucic and he said it served to motivate his team to showing Iginla what he might’ve missed out on as Joe Haggerty of CSNNE.com shares.

“We kind of took it [as motivation], in that sense that when a guy chooses another team over your team, it kind of does light a little bit of a fire underneath you,” said Lucic.

Lucic later said he thought if Iginla had a chance to do it over again he might pick Boston over Pittsburgh. You know what they say about hindsight.

Until facing the Bruins, Iginla was one of the Penguins’ better offensive threats in the postseason. He finished the playoffs with four goals and eight assists but none of those came against Boston. Iginla wasn’t alone in that respect as Sidney Crosby, Evgeni Malkin, and Kris Letang also did not have a point in the series.

Now Iginla’s next question is: What will he do next? Re-sign in Pittsburgh? Test free agency? Retire? He’s got a lot to ponder this summer.

Lucic: If I wanted to hurt Couture, ‘I would have hurt him’


Last night in Los Angeles, Kings forward Milan Lucic received a match penalty after skating the entire width of the ice to give San Jose’s Logan Couture a two-hand shove to the face.

Lucic didn’t hurt Couture, who had caught Lucic with an open-ice hit that Lucic didn’t like. Couture’s smiling, mocking face was good evidence that the Sharks’ forward was going to be OK.

This morning, Lucic was still in disbelief that he was penalized so harshly.

“I didn’t cross any line,” Lucic said, per Rich Hammond of the O.C. Register. “Believe me, if my intentions were to hurt him, I would have hurt him.”

While Lucic knew he deserved a penalty, he said after the game that he didn’t “know why it was called a match penalty.” His coach, Darryl Sutter, agreed, calling it “a borderline even roughing penalty.”

And though former NHL referee Kerry Fraser believes a match penalty was indeed warranted, Lucic said this morning that he hasn’t heard from the NHL about any possible supplemental discipline.

Nor for that matter has Dustin Brown, after his high hit on Couture in the first period.

In conclusion, it’s good to have hockey back.

Related: Sutter says Kings weren’t ‘interested’ in checking the Sharks

Torres apologizes to Silfverberg and Sharks


A statement from Raffi Torres:

“I accept the 41-game suspension handed down to me by the NHL’s Department of Player Safety. I worked extremely hard over the last two years following reconstructive knee surgery to resume my NHL career, and this is the last thing I wanted to happen. I am disappointed I have put myself in a position to be suspended again. I sincerely apologize to Jakob for the hit that led to this suspension, and I’m extremely thankful that he wasn’t seriously injured as a result of the play. I also want to apologize to my Sharks teammates and the organization.”

A statement from San Jose GM Doug Wilson:

“The Sharks organization fully supports the NHL’s supplementary discipline decision regarding Raffi. While we do not believe there was any malicious intent, this type of hit is unacceptable and has no place in our game. There is a difference between playing hard and crossing the line and there is no doubt, in this instance, Raffi crossed that line. We’re very thankful that Jakob was not seriously injured as a result of this play.”

Silfverberg says he expects to play Saturday when the Ducks open their regular season Saturday in San Jose.