Flyers’ Sestito: Crombeen “had something coming to him” after slashing Giroux


Philadelphia Flyers forward Tom Sestito has added fuel to a pretty healthy fire in the wake of Tuesday’s 2-1 win over Tampa Bay.

Last night’s contest featured a pair of fights — Max Talbot vs. Vincent Lecavalier, Zac Rinaldo vs. BJ Crombeen — with the latter resulting in a devastating knockout in favor of Rinaldo.

Afterward, Sestito said Crombeen had it coming.

“What [Crombeen] did to ‘G’ [Claude Giroux] last game, he had something coming to him,” Sestito told the Philadelphia Daily News. “We weren’t going to do it dirty. He answered the bell and good for Zac. It was just a great fight.”

Here’s more, from the Daily News:

Apparently, Crombeen had been a hot topic in the Flyers’ dressing room after their 5-1 loss in Tampa Bay on Jan. 27.

Not long after Vincent Lecavalier’s first period fight in that game, Crombeen attacked the wrists of Giroux with three deliberate slashes all in the same shift. That didn’t go unnoticed.

Giroux, of course, had offseason surgery to repair fractures on both wrists, which he said came from Sidney Crosby during last year’s epic first round playoff series.

The problem, of course, is that many have criticized Rinaldo for hitting Crombeen late — or at least while he was on his way down to the ice — which appeared to exacerbate the damage (Crombeen was dazed, wobbly and didn’t return to the contest.)

“Typically when I’ve gotten into fights with guys in that position, you stop throwing,” Crombeen said after the game. “I mean, guys fight different ways, so I’m not really going to say if it was dirty or not.”

When asked about the fight, Rinaldo said he finished it properly.

“I hit him until he was down,” Rinaldo told reporters. “I’m not going to hit nobody no matter who they are or what they done, I’ll never hit someone when they’re down. I hit him until he was down. I made sure he was down and that was it.

“I kind of felt bad in case I didn’t stop myself, but I’m pretty sure I did.”

The issue now, of course, will be optics. Sestito essentially said the Flyers had a score to settle with Crombeen, and Rinaldo went out and settled it in a pretty violent manner.

That could be construed as premeditation, something the NHL doesn’t take lightly, especially after the Todd Bertuzzi-Steve Moore incident of 2004.

In Jets return, Burmistrov delivers headshot to Bergeron (Updated)

1 Comment

Didn’t take long for Alex Burmistrov to make his presence felt — though not in a good way.

Burmistrov, playing in his first game for the Jets after a two-year stint in Russia, delivered a questionable elbow to the head of Boston’s Patrice Bergeron late in the first period of Thursday’s season-opener:

Burmistrov received a two-minute minor for an illegal check to the head, while Bergeron received a matching minor for roughing (retaliating for the elbow, specifically).

The Bruins went into the intermission leading 1-0, and have yet to update Bergeron’s status.

Update: Bergeron stayed in the game, but B’s head coach Claude Julien was none too pleased with the hit. Following the game, he called for the NHL’s Department of Player Safety to look at it…

Two-for-two: Another successful coach’s challenge as Sens reverse Kane’s goal

Dave Cameron
Leave a comment

Coaches are quickly getting the hang of this challenge thing.

Following Mike Babcock’s successful challenge in Toronto’s opening-night loss to Montreal on Wednesday, Babcock’s provincial rival — Sens head coach Dave Cameron — got it right as well, successfully reversing Evander Kane‘s would-be equalizer in the third period.

From the league:

At 10:34 of the third period in the Senators/Sabres game, Ottawa requested a Coach’s Challenge to review whether Buffalo was off-side prior to Evander Kane’s goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Linesman determined that Buffalo’s Zemgus Girgensons was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, “The standard for overturning the call in the event of a ‘GOAL’ call on the ice is that the Linesman, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an “Off-side” infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed.”

Therefore the original call is overturned – no goal Buffalo Sabres.

The clock is re-set to show 9:32 (10:28 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred.

As the league later noted, this was the first coach’s challenge under the offside scenario.