NBC to broadcast 70 NHL regular season games

24 Comments

The 2013 NHL season promises to be a special one on NBC.

The NBC Sports Group will air 70 NHL regular-season games across NBC and NBC Sports Network this season — that includes 14 exclusive windows (15 games) on NBC, setting a record for the most regular-season windows ever for the network.

Some schedule highlights (All times ET):

Opening Week

NBC and NBCSN will carry seven games during the first week of the NHL season, including a Saturday-Sunday doubleheader on opening weekend (Jan. 19-20.)

Date Away   Home                 Time Network
Sat., January 19 Banner Raising 3:00 p.m. NBC
Sat., January 19 Chicago Los Angeles 3:25 p.m. NBC
Sat., January 19 Pittsburgh Philadelphia 3:35 p.m. NBC
Sun., January 20 Philadelphia Buffalo 12:30 p.m. NBC
Sun., January 20 Chicago Phoenix 10 p.m. NBCSN
Mon., January 21 Detroit Columbus 7:30 p.m. NBCSN
Tues., January 22 Philadelphia New Jersey 7:30 p.m. NBCSN
Wed., January 23 Boston N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m. NBCSN


Wednesday Rivalry Night

NBC Sports Network has exclusive coverage of special Wednesday night programming, highlighting some of the fiercest rivalries in the league.

Date Away   Home                 Time
January 23 Boston N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m.
January 30 Chicago Minnesota 8 p.m.
February 6 Boston Montreal 7:30 p.m.
February 13 St. Louis Detroit 7:30 p.m.
February 20 Philadelphia Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
February 20 St. Louis Colorado 10 p.m.
February 27 Washington Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
March 6 Colorado Chicago 8 p.m.
March 13 Philadelphia New Jersey 7:30 p.m.
March 20 Minnesota Detroit 7:30 p.m.
March 27 Montreal Boston 7:30 p.m.
April 3 Pittsburgh N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m.
April 10 Boston New Jersey 7:30 p.m.
April 17 Buffalo Boston 7:30 p.m.
April 24 Los Angeles Detroit 7:30 p.m.


Hockey Day in America

For the third consecutive year, NBC and NBC Sports Network will dedicate an entire day to the game of hockey. HDIA will feature more than nine hours of coverage, including three games and six teams from some of the most avid U.S. hockey markets.

Time Away   Home              Network
Noon NHL Live NBC
12:30 Pittsburgh Buffalo NBC
3:30 Los Angeles Chicago NBC
6:00 Washington N.Y. Rangers NBC Sports Network


Full Schedule

For the sixth consecutive season, the NHL and NBC Sports Group will utilize flex scheduling, which provides the ability to select from up to four games on Sunday afternoons. At least 13 days prior to the scheduled games, the NHL and NBC will announce which game will air.

NBC 2012-13 NHL regular-season schedule (all times ET, subject to change):

Date Away Home              Time
Saturday, January 19 Chicago Los Angeles 3:25 p.m.
Saturday, January 19 Pittsburgh Philadelphia 3:35 p.m.
Sunday, January 20 Philadelphia Buffalo 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 3 Pittsburgh Washington 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 10 Los Angeles Detroit 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 17 Pittsburgh Buffalo 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 17 Los Angeles Chicago 3:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 3 Chicago Detroit 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 10 N.Y. Rangers Washington 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 17 Boston Pittsburgh 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 31 Chicago Detroit 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 7 St. Louis Detroit 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 14 Chicago St. Louis 12:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 21 New Jersey N.Y. Rangers 3 p.m.
Saturday, April 27 New Jersey N.Y. Rangers 3 p.m.


NBC Sports Network 2012-13 NHL regular-season schedule (all times ET, subject to change):

Date Away Home Time
Sunday, January 20 Chicago Phoenix 10 p.m.
Monday, January 21 Detroit Columbus 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, January 22 Philadelphia New Jersey 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, January 23 Boston N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, January 27 Minnesota St. Louis 8 p.m.
Tuesday, January 29 N.Y. Islanders Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, January 30 Chicago Minnesota 8 p.m.
Monday, February 4 Dallas Colorado 9 p.m.
Tuesday, February 5 Tampa Bay Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 6 Boston Montreal 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 10 New Jersey Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Monday, February 11 Los Angeles St. Louis 9 p.m.
Tuesday, February 12 N.Y. Rangers Boston 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 13 St. Louis Detroit 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 17 Washington N.Y. Rangers 6 p.m.
Tuesday, February 19 San Jose St. Louis 8 p.m.
Wednesday, February 20 Philadelphia Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 20 St. Louis Colorado 10 p.m.
Sunday, February 24 Tampa Bay Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Monday, February 25 Dallas Nashville 8 p.m.
Tuesday, February 26 Boston N.Y. Islanders 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, February 27 Washington Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 3 Montreal Boston 7:30 p.m.
Monday, March 4 Tampa Bay Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 5 Philadelphia N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 6 Colorado Chicago 8 p.m.
Sunday, March 10 Buffalo Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 12 Philadelphia Boston 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 13 Philadelphia New Jersey 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 17 Buffalo Washington 7:30 p.m.
Monday, March 18 Philadelphia Tampa Bay 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 19 Washington Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 20 Minnesota Detroit 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 24 Washington N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m.
Monday, March 25 Los Angeles Chicago 8 p.m.
Tuesday, March 26 Philadelphia N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 27 Montreal Boston 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 31 Washington Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Monday, April 1 Colorado Detroit 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, April 2 Buffalo Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 3 Pittsburgh N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 7 New Jersey Buffalo 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, April 9 Chicago Minnesota 8 p.m.
Wednesday, April 10 Boston New Jersey 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 11 Pittsburgh Tampa Bay 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 14 Detroit Nashville 7:30 p.m.
Monday, April 15 Dallas Chicago 8 p.m.
Tuesday, April 16 NY Rangers Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 17 Buffalo Boston 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 18 New Jersey Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 21 St. Louis Colorado 7:30 p.m.
Monday, April 22 Montreal Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, April 23 Boston Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 24 Los Angeles Detroit 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 25 Pittsburgh New Jersey 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 27 TBD TBD 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 27 TBD TBD 10 p.m.

For guides and channel listings, click here.

PHT Morning Skate: Shane Doan takes a (friendly) shot at the Miracle on Ice

Leave a comment

PHT’s Morning Skate takes a look around the world of hockey to see what’s happening and what we’ll be talking about around the NHL world and beyond.

Shane Doan took a friendly jab at the the movie “Miracle” and the Miracle on Ice. (BarDown)

–The best of the worst Upper Deck hockey cards from 2015-16. (Puck Junk)

–Here’s a list of the top 50 players in WHL history. (WHL)

–Watch the highlights of last night’s game between the Penguins and Capitals. (Top)

–A sad story about how Chris Phillips feels helpless as his hometown of Fort McMurray burns. (CBC)

–“You want to get back into things right away (but) I think these last four or five months have been good for me.” Former Penguins coach Mike Johnston is ready to coach again. (Local XPress)

–Blues forward Jori Lehtera is in a pretty random commercial:

Penguins push Capitals to brink of elimination with OT win

132 Comments

The Pittsburgh Penguins ended a long run of playoff overtime struggles on Wednesday … and are now one win away from ending the Washington Capitals’ season.

Many expected the Penguins to crater on defense without Kris Letang (they were 2-8-1 in the regular season without him). While there were shaky moments, Pittsburgh emphasized its speed and other strengths in taking a 3-2 overtime thriller against Washington.

With that, the Penguins’ series lead grows to 3-1.

It was a thrilling, sometimes nasty contest, from Sidney Crosby shaking off an Alex Ovechkin slash, to Evgeni Malkin delivering a hit some thought was over the line and plenty of typical playoff skirmishes.

Ultimately, Matt Murray played another strong game and Patric Hornqvist scored the overtime-winner to put the Capitals in a tough spot.

The Penguins lost their previous eight playoff overtime games, so maybe it was just a matter of time before such a game went their way?

Then again, the history between the two teams is a little different:

If the Capitals want to advance beyond the second round for the first time in the Ovechkin era, they’ll need to accomplish quite the feat against arguably the hottest team in the NHL.

Sidney Crosby looks hurt (and furious) after Alex Ovechkin slash

ovicrosbynbcsn
NBCSN screen
20 Comments

Sidney Crosby is known to get fiery, but even for his feisty standards, he was furious during the third period of Game 4.

An Alex Ovechkin slash caught Crosby on the hand, leaving the Pittsburgh Penguins star shaking his mitt and pleading for a call.

After that, Crosby left to get his hand looked at … but not before flipping out and destroying his stick.

You can watch it happen in the GIF and the videos above.

Crosby was able to return not that long after that moment, although we can only speculate regarding how his overall game will be affected if his hand isn’t 100 percent.

Dirty or not? Evgeni Malkin’s hit on Daniel Winnik

20 Comments

Tensions seem to rise with every passing game in the playoffs, particularly in a series with bad blood like the one between the Pittsburgh Penguins and Washington Capitals.

Kris Letang was suspended for his hit in Game 3, and some wonder if Evgeni Malkin should suffer a similar fate for his check on Daniel Winnik on Wednesday.

Winnik left the contest and has not yet returned during the third period.

Take a look at the hit in the video above and decide for yourself.